

## OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

## STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT



NOV 0 5 1999

C4-84-2150

Order Appointing Members to the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee

WHEREAS, the Judicial Branch Technology Committee was established by Supreme Court order dated December 7, 1996 and has met continuously since 1997;

WHEREAS, the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee is charged with the following responsibilities:

- 1. Plan for and implement a technology vision and technology plan for the judicial branch.
- 2. Serve as a centralized decision-making body for:
  - <u>Business Practices.</u> Determining which business practices will be supported by technology and software application.
  - <u>Standards.</u> Determining the operational, industry and formal standards which will be adopted by the judicial branch.
  - <u>Prioritization.</u> Determining the percentage of time to be allocated between current system modification and new development, and among initiatives in support of the Courts, Criminal Justice System and other public agencies.
  - <u>Funding Requests.</u> Recommending requests for new funds for technology initiatives, including the source of those funds.
  - <u>Communication</u>. Serve as the central focus for communicating internally and externally the technology vision and technology plan of the judicial branch and as a centralized point for the sharing of technology related information across the judicial system;
- 3. Serve as the judicial branch information resource management (IRM) steering committee.

WHEREAS, vacancies have occurred, terms of membership have expired and new representative needs have become apparent;

**THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED,** the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee shall consist of twenty-six (26) members appointed by the Chief Justice as follows:

One representative of each of the ten judicial districts appointed by the Chief Judge; one Supreme Court Justice or designee and two at large members appointed by the Chief Justice; one Court of Appeals Judge appointed by the Chief Judge; the Supreme Court Commissioner; the Clerk of the Appellate Courts; the State Court Administrator; the Director of the Information Technology Division, two representatives of the Conference of Chief Judges appointed by the Chair of the Conference of Chief Judges; the Minnesota District Judges Association President or designee; the Minnesota Association of Court Administrators' President or designee; and one member elected from each of the four TCIS State User Groups. The chair and vice chair shall be appointed by the Chief Justice.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the following persons shall be, and hereby are, appointed to the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee for the term indicated; subsequent terms shall be three years.

Honorable P. Hunter Anderson Tenth Judicial District Isanti County Courthouse 555 18th Avenue S.W. Cambridge, MN 55008 (612) 689-2292 Three Year Term

Honorable Russell A. Anderson Supreme Court 421 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Constitution Avenue St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-2484 Two Year Term

Shannon Asselin Financial State User Group Representative Blue Earth County Courthouse 204 South 5<sup>th</sup> Street, P. O. Box 0347 Mankato, MN 56002 (507) 389-8364 One Year Term

James Attwood, Court Administrator MACA Fillmore County Courthouse P.O. Box 436 Preston, MN 55965 (507) 765-3356 Three Year Term

Sue K. Dosal State Court Administrator 135 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Constitution Avenue St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-2474 Ex Officio Honorable Kathleen R. Gearin MDJA 1550 Ramsey County Courthouse 15 W. Kellogg Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55102 (651) 266-9178 One Year Term

Dale W. Good, Jr., Director Information Technology Division 145 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Constitution Avenue St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-7636 Ex Officio

Fred Grittner Clerk of Appellate Courts 305 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Constitution Avenue St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-5529 Ex Officio

Mary Helf, District Administrator Sixth Judicial District 425 St. Louis County Courthouse 100 N. Fifth Avenue W. Duluth, MN 55802 (218) 726-2544 One Year Term

Honorable William R. Howard Fourth Judicial District 12-C Hennepin Government Center 300 S. Sixth Street Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-9845 Three Year Term Honorable Philip T. Kanning First Judicial District Carver County Justice Center 600 East 4<sup>th</sup> Street Chaska, MN 55318 (612) 361-1445 Three Year Term

Sonja Kruger Juvenile State User Group Representative Blue Earth County Courthouse 204 South 5<sup>th</sup> Street, P. O. Box 0347 Mankato, MN 56002 (507) 389-8312 One Year Term

Honorable Herbert Lefler At Large Member 12-C Hennepin Government Center 300 South Sixth Street Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-8302 Two Year Term

Honorable Thomas G. McCarthy At Large Member Sibley County Courthouse 400 Court Avenue - P. O. Box 867 Gaylord, MN 55334 (507) 237-2232 Three Year Term

Honorable Thomas J. Mott Second Judicial District 1010 Ramsey County Courthouse 15 W. Kellogg Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55102 (651) 266-9187 Two Year Term

Honorable Dennis Murphy Conference of Chief Judges 101 North Main Thief River Falls, MN 56701 (218) 683-7023 Two Year Term Open Criminal State User Group Representative Washington County Government Center 14900 61<sup>st</sup> Street North - P. O. Box 6 Stillwater, MN 55082 (651) 430-4420 One Year Term

Honorable Gerard W. Ring Third Judicial District Olmsted Government Center 151 4<sup>th</sup> Street S.E. Rochester, MN 55904-3712 (507) 285-8243 Two Year Term

Honorable Randall J. Slieter Eight Judicial District Renville County Courthouse 500 E. DePue Olivia, MN 56277 (320) 523-3680 One Year Term

Richard Slowes Supreme Court Commssioner 430 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Constitution Avenue St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-6125 Ex Officio

Honorable John Smith Ninth Judicial District 300 Minnesota Avenue Walker, MN 55484 (218) 547-7200 Two Year Term

Gregory Solien, District Administrator Seventh Judicial District 705 Courthouse Square - Room 410 P.O. Box 1836 St. Cloud, MN 56302 (320) 656-3650 Three Year Term Joy Steffel Civil State User Group Representative **Renville** County Courthouse 500 E. DePue Olivia, MN 56277 (320) 523-3680 Two year Term

Honorable Edward Toussaint, Jr. Minnesota Court of Appeals 314 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Constitution Avenue St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-1006 One Year Term

Barbara Worrell, Assistant District Administrator Fifth Judicial District 410 South 5<sup>th</sup> Street P. O. Box 3366 Mankato, MN 56002-3366 (507) 388-5204 Two Year Term

Honorable Donald J. Venne Conference of Chief Judges Anoka County Courthouse 325 E. Main St Anoka, MN 55303 (612) 422-7440 Three Year Term

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the Honorable Thomas G. McCarthy shall be, and hereby is, appointed as chair of the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee and that the Honorable Russell A. Anderson shall be, and hereby is, appointed as vice-chair of the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee.

**DATED**: November <u>5</u>, 1999

Kathleen A. Blatz

**Chief Justice** 



## STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

C4-84-2150

Order Appointing An Additional Member to the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee

WHEREAS, the Judicial Branch Technology Committee members were appointed by Supreme Court order dated November 5, 1999;

WHEREAS, the representative from the Criminal State User Group was not appointed and has now been designated to be:

Shari Wicks Morrison County Courthouse 213 S.E. First Avenue Little Falls, MN 56345 320-632-0327 One Year Term

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that Shari Wicks be, and hereby is, appointed to the Judicial Branch Technology Planning committee for an initial one year term:

**DATED**: November <u>7</u>, 1999

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

5

Kathleen A. Blatz Chief Justice

NOV 1 7 1999

**FILED**